A quote from Bill Nye

Yesterday morning I ran my spin class through time trials. We use these to set baselines for people and to determine wattage training zones specific to the athlete. I have been known to get quite into these testing sessions and get the occasional noise complaint. Even though the class was small, there was a great energy in it on Monday.

One gentlemen in the class named Ted, was doing his first TT in over a year and not really looking forward to it. Now, there are a few things you  need to know about Ted. First, he is always smiling and in a great mood. He loves joking around and poking fun at others an himself. He started asking me about the seniors discount at the Talisman Centre before he was even a senior and is one of the most chipper guys you will meet. The most important thing about Ted, is that he is Bill Nye…that’s right, the science guy.

He isn’t actually Bill Nye, but he looks surprisingly similar, is a chemist and is always pointing his fingers like Bill in this picture. Jon and I started calling him Bill and even chanting (from the song) Bill, Bill, Bill during training sessions or races.

Needless to say, Ted is a pretty cool cat and usually has something to say that makes me laugh. After his TT yesterday though, which left him speechless for a while, he said something to me that I won’t forget. It may have been one of the best comments someone has given me and couldn’t have come from a better person.

How many Grant’s does it take to change a light bulb?

The answer will be posted tomorrow.

Grant

One thought on “A quote from Bill Nye

  1. I’m looking forward to learning how many Grants it takes to change a light bulb. I did a nice 2 km swim this morning. … Bob

Leave a Reply

