Season is officially over

That’s a wrap for the 2011 season. It has been a year of highs and lows, but now the race season has come to a close. After racing in Georgia, I found my body and mind very tired. With little juice to hurt through 2 more half ironmans, I decided to call my race season quits. It is sometimes tough as an athlete to know when to pull the plug on a season, but I had many telling signs. First off, I wasn’t excited to race anymore. I was not motivated to hurt through the workouts, let alone suffer the way I needed to in order to have a good result at the races. My main motivation during the days was to sleep, eat and not think about triathlon. My body had some issues, like bruised hip and a vertebrae out of place, that needed to get fixed. One of my main motivations though, was the desire to take time off quickly, so I could start full training again in mid October. This would allow me more time to work over the winter and race earlier.

After looking at these signs and talking it over with my coach Jack and my family, my race season ended. In one of my next posts, I’ll analyze my year, but today is not that day. I’m now getting back into the swing of things at Talisman Centre and slowly finding a rhythm with coaching again. The past couple weeks of minimal training and a lot of good food has been food for my mind and soul. I now am looking outside and feel an urge to run, bike and swim. Let’s let the off season training begin.

Grant

One thought on “Season is officially over

Leave a Reply

