A splash with Cascade and a sunny afternoon

This morning I started swimming with Dave Johnson and the Cascade swim club. Dave is a former coach of the Canadian Olympic swim team and renowned as being one of the most knowledgeable and up to date coaches around. This mornings practice gave me more insight into why this is. He was able to quickly pick apart my stroke and help me along with things I needed to change. He knows the order things need to be changed in as well as how to explain it so I can understand. I know swimming with Cascade is going to get my swim to the level  I’ve never been able to get it to on my own.

Late this morning I headed out for a 3.5 hour ride. It’s still getting up to double digits in Calgary, which makes fall riding spectacular. I’d like to say that my legs felt spectacular, but I’m not going to lie on the internet. In fact there was a couple times when I thought my rear tire must be rubbing, never a good sign. My legs didn’t feel terrible, I’m just a little tired and the route I chose ended up having a lot of head wind. It doesn’t really matter though, because I was just excited to be out on my bike under clear blue skies.

My big issue at this time of year is dealing with the muscles in my body not firing correctly. I’m really struggling to get everything activated. Once Dave Holmes and I fix this, the workouts become that much better and most of the little pains and injuries go away. Come on body, please get fit again for me.

G-Force

Leave a Reply

