Cancer in the family

The week before the Banff triathlon my parents told me that my dad wouldn’t be able to make the race because of surgery. As it turns out, earlier on in the summer my dad had some blood in his urine while on vacation. When they got back into Calgary, they went to get things checked out. The doctors found a tumor in his bladder that they were confident was cancerous. I knew nothing about this until I got back from the Kelowna and had dinner with my family. My dad, who is one of the most positive people I know, didn’t seem that worried about it. Cancer in the bladder is apparently a good place to contract cancer, if you are going to contract it, because the cancer tends to not spread from the bladder.

The past couple weeks, I haven’t really been sure how to feel about this whole situation. The surgery went very well and my dad is fully recovered. By the end of this week, we should hear the reports on how bad the tumor was and this should give us a bit more information on what is going on. It’s a difficult situation, but I’m thankful that everyone is in good spirits and is very optimistic. Thank you to all of you that have been supportive to my family and I in the past couple weeks. I’ll keep you updated.

Grant

One thought on “Cancer in the family

  1. Hi Grant,

    I’m glad to hear that your dad is doing okay and remaining positive. My dad had prostate cancer last summer and had to have surgery as well. It’s a really stressful time but it really makes you grateful that it wasn’t worse.

    Meghan

Leave a Reply

