First race back, Canmore Triathlon

Yesterday I competed in the Canmore Olympic triathlon. My last post will give you a little back ground on the race and this post I’ll focus on the actual race.

Race morning my body didn’t feel that great, probably because of the flu I’d had all week. After some stretching and a good warm up things started to look up and my lungs opened up.  I just wanted to stay relaxed in the swim and not burn any matches. I got off to a good start and then settled into a pace. My swim isn’t where it needs to be, but I was happy with the effort. The entire swim I was alone, but had to pass people constantly because the womens olympic and sprint had gone ahead of us and it was a 3 lap course.

After a quick transition, I mounted my new steed, a Cervelo P3, and rode off into the rain and cold. Actually the weather wasn’t that bad, air temp and water temp were probably about 15C. The bike course was very hilly and four laps. Due to the hilly nature of the bike course, I had a hard time settling the HR down on the first lap. Each lap I got more relaxed though and tried to ride strong and smooth. My quads felt quite heavy and I started to throw up my hydration on the bike. It looks like I’ll have to do some more experimenting before the next race. I stopped drinking and took a gel with about 15mins left on the bike so everything would be digested before the run.

I entered T2 in first place and wanted to run strong for the first km and then settle into a rhythm. The run course was quite hilly and reminded me of my cross country days. My legs quickly transfered to running form and I was able to settle into a rhythm fairly quickly. Other than getting a stitch at 6km, the run was pretty uneventful. It involved a lot of hills and keeping a solid rhythm. I finished in first place and could hardly keep the smile off my face. It feels good to be back, triathlons are such a blast. More to come this summer, so stay tuned.

 1   1/4    M2024     40 Grant BURWASH                2   20:48    2 1:04:55    1   34:38 2:00:19.4
    2   2/4    M2024    266 Jeremy ROLES                 1   19:47    4 1:07:55    6   39:34 2:07:14.5
    3   1/14   M3034     12 Ivan BABIKOV                13   26:25    1 1:04:39    7   39:45 2:10:47.9
    4   1/10   M2529     62 Sean CROOKS                 27   27:10    3 1:07:36    8   39:54 2:14:37.9
    5   2/10   M2529    116 Nick HADDOW                  8   25:31    6 1:10:39    4   39:21 2:15:29.2 

Full results here

G-Force
One thought on “First race back, Canmore Triathlon

  1. Way to go, Grant ! Excellent and good to hear you’re patience and hard work is paying off – putting it all on the line to get back to where you were.
    Michael

Leave a Reply

