Bike day and Kids day

This morning was the first Centaur triathlon camp of the year. Jon and I woke up to fantastic weather and the day only got better. We had about 30 people show up for our bike handling course and if they had half as much fun as I did, the day was a success. It’s great to be able to talk to people about the sport that I love and pass on my knowledge to them. After we hung out int he sun and ate a catered meal from Fresh Kitchen and talked about bikes. This past week was incredibly busy trying to get things together for the day, but it honestly went off perfectly. If you attended the camp, I’d love to hear your feedback on what you thought about it.

On Tuesday Jon and I talked to about 40 grade 5/6 students about sport, university and goal setting. In the past I have done a bunch of public speaking and very much enjoy it. The kids were so responsive and ate up the entire presentation. They had lots of questions about our bikes, eating and how we got to be where we were. One of the most inspiring parts was when we asked them what goals they had for themselves. They had answers like famous artist, hockey players, vets, etc. I reminded me again of my dreams that I have held since a very young age. I need to keep the same passion for my dreams and goals that I had when I was first starting out. There are many tough days, and I feel I’ve had my share lately, but if you keep pushing for what you truly want, nothing seems like to much of a hurdle.

After a talk we went outside with them and played some transition games. I can still hear the roar of protest go up as we mixed their shoes up so they had to search to find them. What a great way to spend the afternoon. It looks like I’ll be doing another one in early June. Of course I’ll post on that when the time comes.

Life is good!

Grant

Leave a Reply

