Life with a stress fracture

Turns out life with a stress fracture is not as glamorous as you may think. You have to costantly be worrying about getting athletes foot, chafing under the arms from the crutches, how to stay off your feet and not slipping on the ice. Even things like going to get groceries or working at the store are much more difficult. I am very lucky though that I have the use of my legs and that my leg is just in an air cast.

All this week I’ve been swimming and water running. Man I am slow at water running. I challenge any of you to come out and water run with me, I guarantee you will all beat me. Thankfully waterrunning is all about technique and not velocity….phew. Things are going well and I’m in a very good mind space about this injury and am enjoying life right now. Thank you to all of you who have given me words of encouragement.

Life is a struggle, but struggle with a smile good.

Grant

One thought on “Life with a stress fracture

  1. hi there, i just stumbled across your blog. like you, i am suffering from a stress fracture in my right tibia. mine is my second in the last year (same spot, almost) and started right when i was starting to feel like a “real runner” again. i will definitely be reading your blog from here on out … i can relate to the trials and tribulations of water running and swimming 🙂

    take care.

Leave a Reply

