I have lats?

Since I started swimming again I have been focusing on technique only. I’m not worrying about pace times, just looking at times, counting strokes and thinking way more than I did during a university lecture. I feel this is a perfect time to completely change my stroke and develop optimal technique and efficiency. Today I was really working on getting a good body roll and locking in on each side. To initiate the pull I was working on using my lats and core, which I haven’t been very good at in the past. I could only make it 45mins in the pool this morning because my lats began to give out. I couldn’t get the pull I needed and then got lazy on the roll. So, that meant it was time to get out of the pool and go home.

I was looking online at some videos this morning about swim technique and found some excellent footage on youtube. There are great underwater videos of swimmers like Thorpe and Phelps that you should check out. I just finished watching a 25min analysis of Aleksandr Popov, one of the great freestyle sprinters of all time. Check out this video.


I spent the weekend in Edmonton running on some fresh trails and visiting Blake and Julianna. I also got to watch the Universities battle it out in the annual Stewart Cup cross country race. The weekend just got me even more psyched about running. So, that’s what I’m going to do in about 30mins.

Happy Swimming,

Grant

Leave a Reply

