Great trip to Edmonton

This long weekend I decided to head up to Edmonton to see my brother Blake and his fiance Julianna. It was a great weekend and I’ll be heading back home tonight so I can work tomorrow. This weekend was exactly what I needed, a weekend away to relax, chat and enjoy great company. Since I had to work on Saturday, my weekend ended up being Sunday through Tuesday. Unfortunately Blake and Julianna had to both work today, so I decided to go for a run to explore part of the Edmonton river valley. To bad my mind was bigger than my legs today and I didn’t make it as far as I wanted. It was still a great 70min run exploring new trails and loving just being outside. I have to admit that I didn’t expect to have to run in thermal clothes and deal with snow, but it is Alberta.

Tomorrow and Thursday I am the starter for the Calgary high school track meets. I did this last year and absolutely loved it. It’s great to be able to help the students learn about track and make the day enjoyable for everyone. I’m hoping that the weather warms up a little bit, otherwise I know I’ll have a problem staying warm. I remember when I did this last year around this time the weather was about 30*C and blue skies. If you happen to know someone who is racing in the next two days, don’t worry, the starter’s guns are not real and I have been highly trained!

Interesting fact. On a run the other day a friend was telling me that IAAF was thinking about banning the starting gun because they fear it promotes violence to children. This seems ridiculous to me because the movies and TV people are watching these days are a much worse influence than the unrealistic starting pistols used that are shot into the sky. I may be wrong though, perhaps golden league on Saturday mornings does have more of an influence on children than the Bourne series!

G-Force

Leave a Reply

